Inspiration Lab


Font of the week
October 6, 2008, 12:36 pm
Filed under: Typography

You are going to think I’ve gone mad when you see this weeks font. But It’s actually a wanted ad. When I was in New York this summer I visited PS 1 in Queens. Sitting in the museum cafe I noticed some beautiful typography by the museum shop. It kinda looked like a very thin American Typewriter. But it wasn’t, the serifs were all clean and neat, unlike AT which is kinda wobly. This font has haunted me ever since, I WANT IT! So if anyone has a clue for me please throw me a comment. Otherwise I’ll just have to clean it up in Fontlab myself :-)

Until then you have to imagine the missing font by imagining the bellow sample (American Typewriter light) with cleaner curves. American Typewriter was designed by Joel Kaden and Tony Stan in 1974 and was made legendary with Milton Glaser’s logo for “I (heart) NY”.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,479 other followers