Inspiration Lab


MAD
July 13, 2009, 7:57 pm
Filed under: This and That

Someone said, if you’re bored in New York it’s your own fault, and I agree. But with so many things to see where to start? I figured my second weekend in New York should be wellspent with a visit to MAD, the Museum of Art and Design. The exhibition I wanted to see was about the art of industrial ceramics. Sounds boring? It certainly wasn’t! The top floor was dedicated to a modern take on classic ceramics and there were just so many exhiting and creative takes on that. If you happen to be in New York you should certainly go, I think designers in most disciplines would find it inspiring. You can start at the top gallery floor where all the exciting stuff is and run quickly through the rest which in my opinion wasn’t so great. I guess ceramics is a stretch from my usual content but just see the samples below, isn’t that something? The only artist I was missing was Dutch artist Judith van der Boom, her take on the classic figurine is so cool.

Read more about the exhibition here.

KjellRylander

Kjell Rylander

IonnaVautrin_GuillaumeDevigne

Ionna Vautrin & Guillaume Devigne.

HellaJongerius
HellaJongerius2

Hella Jongerius.

carolineSlotte

Caroline Slotte. It’s a bit hard to see but this is a stack of plates cut out in the middle to make a 3D landscape.

BodoSperlein

Bodo Sperlein.

MalinLundmark

Malin Lundmark.

boom

boom2

boom1

Judith van der Boom.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,471 other followers